PTI forms committee for south Punjab province


Staff Report


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan has constituted a special committee to formulate a strategy for the creation of a separate south Punjab province.

A notification has been issued for formation of a committee to formulate strategy for a separate south Punjab province. According to the notification issued by the PTI chairman, the committee will “look into all necessary aspects and steps required in creation of a new province and submit an implementation plan to party within a period of 100 days.”

The committee comprises Mir Balakh Sher Mazari as convener, PTI vice president Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Jahangir Khan Tareen, Ishaq Khan Khakwani, Tahir Bashir Cheema and PML-N south Punjab defector Khusro Bakhtiar.

Last week, the Junoobi Punjab Sooba Mahaaz (JPSM) – a recently formed group of mostly former PML-N MPs from the south Punjab, merged with the PTI on the condition that the party would ‘take practical and tangible steps for creation of the south Punjab as a separate province within 100 days after coming into power.

Imran, on the occasion, had vowed that if his party came into power, he would prioritise the creation of a separate south Punjab province as well as the merger of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas with the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Comments are closed.