Pakistan condemns Indian ceasefire violations along LoC, WB


Foreign Office Wednesday summoned the Indian Acting Deputy High Commissioner and condemned the Tuesday’s unprovoked ceasefire violations by the occupation forces along the Line of Control in Hotspring’s Sector, which resulted in the martyrdom of an innocent civilian, Chaudry Muzaffar in Village Dehra Sher Khan.
This was stated by Foreign Office Spokesperson Dr Muhammad Faisal here Thursday during his weekly media briefing. The Indian Forces along the Line of Control and the Working Boundary are continuously targeting civilian populated areas with heavy weapons, he said.
“This year, the Indian forces have carried out more than 1000 ceasefire violations along the Line of Control and the Working Boundary, resulting in the martyrdom of 24 innocent civilians and injured 107 others.”
The unprecedented escalation in ceasefire violations by India is continuing since 2017, when the Indian forces committed 1970 ceasefire violations, he said. The deliberate targeting of civilian populated areas is indeed deplorable and contrary to human dignity, international human rights and humanitarian laws, he added.
He urged the international community to play its role in calling upon India to account for its crimes against humanity in Jammu & Kashmir. Like many other public figures and leader of IoK, Shabir Shah has been arrested for his non-violent political struggle for the resolution of the Jammu & Kashmir dispute.
Despite the urgent need to ensure his safety, he has not been shifted to a high-risk ward and authorities continue to torment him by giving him no access to medical facilities, he said and added, several other incarcerated leaders and political activists languish in various Indian jails for their political beliefs.
Pakistan, he said, has noted with grave concern that despite calls by the international community to comply with UN General Assembly and Security Council resolutions on the two-state solution, US has moved its Embassy to the Holy City of Jerusalem. “This represents a violation of international law and several United Nations Security Council resolutions, in particular resolutions 476 and 478.”
The Government and people of Pakistan stand firmly with the Palestinian people also renew the call for establishment of a viable, independent and contiguous State of Palestine, on the basis of internationally agreed parameters, the pre-1967 borders, and with Al-Quds Al-Sharif as its capital, he said.
He recalled the fourth meeting of Afghanistan Pakistan Action Plan for Peace and Solidarity (APAPPS) was held in Islamabad on May 14 at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, where delegations were led by Afghan Deputy Foreign Minister Hekmat Khalil Karzai and Pakistan’s Foreign Secretary Tehmina Janjua.
In pursuance of the seven principles agreed in the meeting between Afghan President Ashraf Ghani and Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi during his visit to Kabul on April 6, 2018, the two sides finalized the Afghanistan Pakistan Action Plan for Peace and Solidarity (APAPPS), which operationalized the six working groups envisaged under APAPPS, he said.
APAPPS provides a framework to deepen interaction in all spheres of bilateral engagements. It is also a mechanism for finding solutions to bilateral areas of concern.
He said both sides agreed that effective and full implementation of APAPPS would contribute towards the common objectives of eliminating terrorism and achieving peace, stability, prosperity and development of the people of the two countries.
The spokesperson said Pakistan condemned the multiple missile attacks on Jazan and Riyadh by Houthi militia. The successful interception of the missiles by the Saudi forces prevented loss of innocent lives and was commendable, he added.
“Pakistan reiterates its solidarity with Saudi leadership and people and stands by Saudi Arabia against any threats to its territorial integrity and threats against Harmain Sharifain.”
He said Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi had extended the deepest felicitations to Dr. Mahathir Muhammad on becoming Prime Minister of Malaysia. APP

Comments are closed.