ECP seeks PML-N’s reply over Maryam’s appointment as party VP





The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday sought reply from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on a petition seeking removal of Maryam Nawaz from the position of vice president PML-N.

A three-member bench of ECP, presided over by Chief Election Commissioner took up the case challenging the appointment of Maryam Nawaz as PML-N vice-president.

Jehangir Jadoon from PML-N, Barrister Zafar Ullah from Maryam Nawaz and Hassan Man from the PTI appeared before the ECP.

The lawyer of the PML-N and Maryam asked for a copy of the petition from the ECP and said they would submit a response after going through it.

Directing the authorities concerned to provide a copy of the petition to PML-N, ECP asked them to submit their reply in the next hearing on June 25.

The petition against Maryam was filed by PTI MNAs Maleeka Bukhari, Farrukh Habib and Javeria Zafar on May 9.

They say her May 4 appointment as PML-N vice-president is against the law because she has been convicted of a crime. She was sentenced to seven years in prison for abetting her father Nawaz Sharif after she was found “instrumental in concealment of the properties of her father” by an accountability court in July 2018.

PTI member National Assembly and petitioner Malaika Bukhari while talking to the media representatives in Islamabad, Parliamentary Secretary for Law Maleeka Bukhari said PML-N counsel took a U-turn before the election commission when he stated that Maryam Nawaz is not party vice-president.

Bukhari stressed being a convicted person; Maryam cannot hold any party office. She said Bilawal Bhutto and Maryam Nawaz have tried to befool Pakistani nation.

“Second round of political meeting of Abu Bachao campaign was held a day earlier in Raiwind. Maryam Nawaz and Bilawal Bhutto have no political experience, she added.

In a major party reshuffle in May, Maryam was made one of the 16 vice-presidents of the PML-N along with Hamza Shehbaz, who is also the Opposition Leader in the Punjab Assembly.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was appointed as the senior vice-president, while Ahsan Iqbal was made the general secretary